Tags

, , , ,

Quality time is so valuable to me.  A couple of weeks ago I had an amazing 11 days with my bestest friend in Kansas City.  She has been such an encouragement to me and has always been someone who inspires me to go deep in pursuit of the Lord.  Over the years her friendship has taught me that love doesn’t depend on my ability or actions.  She has lived in KC for about 4 years now and although it hasn’t always been the closest friendship or the best effort on either of our ends, she still pursues a friendship with me and when we talk on the phone or get together it is so refreshing and encouraging.  If you know my friend then you know what fun is, lol. #susannaerwin(arteaga)

Now all that is great… but the point for this post comes with while we were cooking in her new apartment making dinner. She gave me a job and let me do it however I wanted to: cooking potatoes, lol.  I can’t explain why, but I felt pressure to prepare and cook them without any mistakes and felt that if I didn’t do it how she would do it, then she’d be frustrated or upset.  Oh girl! She picked up on that and said, “Melisa, I don’t base our friendship on your performance! If you were to pour the whole container of salt on those potatoes I would still love you!”  Woah.  Although we were just joking around, it was sincere.  I knew that, but it was altogether a revelation to hear it.  She didn’t realize it, but it was really a reflection of my relationship with the Lord.  I know He loves me and without condition, but to hear her say that and then think about the Lord… He loves me, not based on my performance but based on His character!

#makesmewannaloveHimMORE!  😀

Psalm 13:5

“God is love.  Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.  In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like him.  There is no fear in love.  But perfect love drives out fear; because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”                                                                        I John 4:16-18

