Tags

, , , ,

Fix your eyes.

Looking at the men and women in the Bible and their extraordinary lives and their simple devotion inspires me and humbles me. My life in no way looks like theirs. I want my life to reflect the glory of God so that men see Him and that He wins in all things in my life. So as I am looking for this way to an extraordinary life through simple devotion and I look at these two great men that moved the heart of God and whose hearts were also moved by Him… I do not attempt to be in a place of judgment but will not waste what they have learned.

When God speaks… what do I do?  There are those times that God speaks and moves on my heart to be obedient… to DO something. What do I do? My thoughts will usually determine what I do… My response is based on what I think and believe. Two men. Just a brief look:

Moses. When God spoke… what did he do? What was his response? Where were his eyes?                  Exodus 3:10-13 “Moses protested to God, ‘Who am I to appear before Pharaoh? Who am I to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt?”                                                                                                                                 Moses’ eyes were on himself. He did what God asked but not to the FULLness of what God had desired.

David. When God spoke… what did he do? What was his response? Where were his eyes?                             1 Samuel 17:23-26, 32-37, 45  “Who is this pagan Philistine anyway, that he is allowed to defy the armies of the living God?”           “The Lord who rescued me from the claws of the lion and the bear will rescue me from this Philistine!”                             “…but I have come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies…Today the Lord will conquer you…and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel!”

Look at their lives… simple devotion leads us to keep our eyes on an extravagant God…. not on ourselves. Be reminded that our eyes should always be on God…

Personal story: During worship one day, the Lord spoke to me… When He speaks I can neither be prideful or insecure just obedient in the confidence that it is Him not me. When He speaks, I cannot take the credit, it was God’s idea not mine! It is all for His glory and His name. When He speaks, I cannot be insecure, keeping my eyes on myself and frozen from obedience, because it was His idea, not mine. He will do what He says. He goes with me.

Take Away: When He speaks… what will I do? Look at myself, my lack and inabilities/my success and abilities???     OR       Keep my eyes fixed on God, knowing that He can do all things and is victorious??!

