Tags

, , , , , , ,

O Lord, You alone are my hope. I have trusted You, O Lord, from childhood.  Yes, You have been with me from birth; from my mother’s womb You have cared for me.  NO    WONDER I AM ALWAYS PRAISING YOU!                                           Psalm 71:5 & 6

Sometimes we need to look back and reflect. To think. To remember. To recall.  David also said in Psalm 111 verses 2-4 that we should ponder the amazing deeds of the Lord; that to ponder His works is a result of delighting in Him. It is His mercy that causes us to remember His wonderful works, which reveal His glory and majesty and strengthens in our hearts that indeed, His righteous never fails.

So, if we make the Lord our delight it will lead us to recall what He has done which results in what?  Gratefulness! Praise! Security and confidence in Him again. Release. Trusting that this same amazing and good God who has kept me this far… knowing that “this far” is a mere drop in the bucket to His existence and capabilities to manage… then, yes, He has me now and will always be faithful to keep me. Mmmmm. : ) Peaceful. Rest.

SO….. that’s what I did yesterday and again today. I began to feel that in talking to others about the greatness of God and what He has done in my life… it had been a while since I had reflected what He has done and therefore the joy of my salvation was very mediocre.

Be encouraged! Reflect on His goodness. Don’t let the unanswered prayers and frustrations keep you from remembering and appreciating the answered prayers and His faithfulness to care for you.

What has He saved you from? Do you remember a time of repentance, where you depended on His mercy and grace? How has He cared for you and directed your steps since childhood? What are those moments where you received from Him in a personal way? Was it a word someone gave you? Was it feeling His love during a time of meeting with Him quietly? Was it a sunrise or singing of birds that cause you to remember He is sovereign?

Because… He is real. He is good. He is with you and looooovves you! He makes His delight in you. You are here because He created you for His glory to worship and love Him and talk about His goodness. Practically, how can we talk about His goodness if we are not becoming aware of it? Many things He has done that have gone unnoticed by us and our busy schedules.

Let us with David come to a place where we can say:  “My life is an example to many, because you have been my strength and protection. That is why I can never stop praising you; I declare Your glory all day long” (ps 71:7, 8) (btw, he said this in the middle of being pursued by his enemy and needing protection).

